Website in transition!

On November 1, 2014, the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board (PSLREB) was created. The PSLREB was created when the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) and the Public Service Staffing Tribunal (PSST) merged. This PSLRB website is in the process of being phased out in favour of the new PSLREB website. During a period of transition, this PSLRB website will continue to provide archived reports, decisions, and transitional information. Please visit the new PSLREB website for the most recent content.

Archived Content

Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats. Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving.

Larson v. Treasury Board (Solicitor General Canada - Correctional Service)

document icon
Full Text

166-2-30267, 30268 and 30269 (2002 PSSRB 9)
Larson v. Treasury Board (Solicitor General Canada - Correctional Service)

Before: E. Henry
Appearances: G. Mancini, for the Grievor; J. Jaworski, for the Employer
Decision rendered: January 25, 2002

Indefinite suspension pending outcome of criminal charges – Prison guard – the grievor was a correctional officer employed at a medium security institution – he was arrested, charged with arson and breach of probation and then was released on bail – following a brief investigation, the warden indefinitely suspended the grievor effective April 3, 2000, pending the outcome of the criminal charges against him because she believed that his continued presence constituted a risk to the security and safety of the institution – in her opinion, he would be unable to perform the duties of his position relevant to controlling and interacting with inmates – the grievor submitted three grievances to the employer relating to this matter – two involved alleged violations of the collective agreement – the third grievance objected to the indefinite suspension – the adjudicator considered the principles which must be applied in determining whether an indefinite suspension pending the outcome of criminal proceedings is justified – she pointed out that the employer submitted no evidence that the grievor's presence in the institution could be considered to present a reasonably serious and immediate risk to the legitimate concerns of the employer – neither did the employer take reasonable steps to ascertain whether the grievor could be assigned to alternative duties – furthermore, at no time did the warden or the person conducting the fact-finding investigation meet with the grievor to obtain his version of events, either before or after he was suspended indefinitely – the onus is on the employer to meet with the employee to get his version and not on the employee to seek such a meeting – in addition, the adjudicator rejected the warden's assertion that her action in suspending the grievor was administrative and not disciplinary in nature – accordingly, the adjudicator concluded that the imposition of the indefinite suspension was unwarranted – she found that the employer could have concluded a proper investigation of the grievor's circumstances within a month of the infraction – she therefore ordered the grievor's reinstatement with full pay and benefits retroactive to May 1, 2000 – however, she denied the grievor's request for interest on the amount owing.

Two grievances against alleged violations of the collective agreement denied.

Grievance against the indefinite suspension allowed, in part.

Cases cited:
Ontario Jockey Club and S.E.I.U. Local 528 (1977), 17 L.A.C. (2d) 176; Hamilton Regional Cancer Centre and Canadian Union of Public Employees, Local 3566 (2000), 91 L.A.C. (4th) 333; Fleming (166-2-13488 and 13489).

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Site Web en transition!

Le 1er novembre 2014, la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique (CRTEFP) a été créée. La CRTEFP a été créée lorsque la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP) et le Tribunal de la dotation de la fonction publique (TDFP) ont fusionné. On élimine donc progressivement le site Web de la CRTFP en faveur du nouveau site Web de la CRTEFP. Au cours de cette période de transition, le site Web de la CRTFP continuera de fournir des rapports archivés, des décisions et des renseignements transitoires. Veuillez visiter le nouveau site Web de la CRTEFP pour obtenir le contenu le plus récent.

contenu archivé

Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format. Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive.

Larson c. Conseil du Trésor (Solliciteur général du Canada - Service correctionnel)

document icon
Texte intégral

166-2-30267, 30268 et 30269 (2002 CRTFP 9)
Larson c. Conseil du Trésor (Solliciteur général Canada - Service correctionnel)

Devant : E. Henry
Comparants : G. Mancini, pour le fonctionnaire s'estimant lésé; J. Jaworski, pour l'employeur
Date de la décision : le 25 janvier 2002

Suspension pour une période indéfinie en attendant l'issue d'accusations criminelles - Gardien de prison - le fonctionnaire s'estimant lésé était un agent de correction affecté à un établissement à sécurité moyenne - il avait été arrêté, accusé d'incendie criminel et de manquement aux conditions de sa probation, puis libéré sous caution - après une courte enquête, la directrice de l'établissement l'avait suspendu pour une période indéterminée, parce qu'elle estimait que sa présence à l'établissement constituait un risque pour la sécurité - à son avis, le fonctionnaire s'estimant lésé allait être incapable de s'acquitter des fonctions de son poste impliquant le contrôle des détenus et les interactions avec eux - le fonctionnaire s'estimant lésé a présenté trois griefs dans cette affaire - deux de ses griefs dénonçaient des violations de la convention collective - le troisième grief contestait la suspension pour une période indéfinie - l'arbitre s'est penchée sur les principes à appliquer pour déterminer si une suspension pour une période indéfinie en attendant l'issue d'une procédure pénale est justifiée - elle a souligné que l'employeur n'avait soumis aucune preuve que la présence du fonctionnaire s'estimant lésé à l'établissement pouvait être considérée comme un risque raisonnablement grave et immédiat pour ses intérêts légitimes - l'employeur n'a pas non plus pris de mesures raisonnables pour vérifier si le fonctionnaire s'estimant lésé aurait pu être affecté à d'autres fonctions - en outre, la directrice ou la personne chargée de l'enquête sur les faits n'avaient jamais rencontré le fonctionnaire s'estimant lésé pour obtenir sa version des événements, que ce soit avant ou après la décision de le suspendre pour une période indéfinie - c'est à l'employeur qu'il incombe de rencontrer l'employé pour obtenir sa version, et non à ce dernier de réclamer une telle rencontre - en outre, l'arbitre a rejeté la prétention de la directrice que sa décision de suspendre le fonctionnaire s'estimant lésé était administrative et non disciplinaire - par conséquent, elle a conclu que l'imposition de la suspension pour une période indéfinie était injustifiée - elle a jugé que l'employeur aurait pu faire une enquête en bonne et due forme dans le mois qui a suivi l'infraction - elle a donc ordonné la réintégration du fonctionnaire s'estimant lésé dans son poste, avec traitement et avantages intégraux, rétroactivement au 1er mai 2000 - elle a toutefois rejeté la demande du fonctionnaire s'estimant lésé qu'on lui verse des intérêts sur la somme due.

Deux griefs contre des violations de la convention collective reprochées à l'employeur rejetés.

Grief contre la suspension pour une période indéfinie accueilli en partie.

Décisions citées :Ontario Jockey Club and S.E.I.U. Local 528 (1977), 17 L.A.C. (2d) 176; Hamilton Regional Cancer Centre and Canadian Union of Public Employees, Local 3566 (2000), 91 L.A.C. (4th) 333; Fleming (166-2-13488 et 13489).